Hardy, Hunnewell, Upham Facilities Project

At its meeting on May 23, 2017, the School Committee voted unanimously to adopt a position statement on the Hardy, Hunnewell, and Upham (HHU) Facilities Project. 

Wellesley Public Schools north arrow

The statement summarizes the School Committee’s position on the excellent work recently completed by the HHU Master Plan Committee (MPC) and also sketches out future steps, most particularly the creation of a School Building Committee (SBC) to continue work on the project. While school committees in Massachusetts have authority and responsibility under the General Laws for establishment and maintenance of school buildings (MGL 71:68), the Committee recognizes that the potential scale of the HHU project warrants a broad-based process, involving multiple Town boards as well as interested residents, in an attempt to build consensus around the project. As the School Committee and the Board of Selectmen jointly established the HHU MPC, as well as the School Facilities Committee that preceded it, the School Committee and the Board of Selectmen are jointly creating the SBC and establishing this charge for its work.

School Building Committee Members

Name Representing
Sharon Gray, Chair School Committee
Jack Morgan, Vice Chair Board of Selectmen
Jane Andrews Advisory Committee
Charlene Cook (non-voting member) Hardy Principal
Jeffery Dees (non-voting member) Upham Principal
Virginia Ferko Community
Steve Gagosian Facilities Maintenance
Joubin Hassanein Community
Ryan Hutchins Community
Meghan Jop Executive Director
Matt King Permanent Building Committee
David Lussier Superintendent of Schools
Cynthia Mahr (non-voting member) Asst. Superintendent of Schools
Ellen Quirk (non-voting member) Hunnewell Principal
Heather Sawitsky Community
Jose Soliva Community
Thomas Ulfelder Board of Selectmen